In the first year of its Bicycle Helmet Law, New Jersey reduced bicycle fatalities, among riders younger than 14 years, by 80 percent, the state's Department of Law and Public Safety (DLPS) reported.

Since July 1992, all New Jersey bicycle riders and passengers, younger than 14 years, have been required to wear helmets that meet safety standards established by the American National Standards Institute. First-time offenders caught riding without helmets are fined $25. Multiple offenses carry a $100 fine.

This content is only available via PDF.
You do not currently have access to this content.