In the history of the Academy, there have been 84 presidents and seven executive directors. Only one person, however, has filled both of these roles: James E. Strain, M.D., FAAP, of Greenwood Village, Colo.

Dr. Strain was AAP president from 1982-’83 and executive director from 1986-’93. He also served on many committees and was a former chair of the AAP Colorado Chapter.

He has been a member for nearly 56 years.

Among AAP honors bestowed on Dr. Strain are the Clifford Grulee Award (1985), the Abraham Jacobi Award (1994) and the Job Lewis Smith Award (1997). He also received the Excellence in Public Service Award from the U.S. surgeon general (1988).

James E. Strain, M.D., FAAP, the only pediatrician to serve as both AAP president and executive director, assists young volunteers in a tree planting event at AAP headquarters in Elk Grove Village, Ill.

A longtime practitioner in Denver, Dr....

You do not currently have access to this content.