Skip to Main Content
Skip Nav Destination

Voters' Guide: Meet the candidates for District IX offices :

July 29, 2016

The 2016 national AAP election for president-elect and district officers will begin on Oct. 21 and conclude on Nov. 21. Look for an  email message from the AAP election coordinator in October with your  personalized link to the ballot. No other login information will be  required.

Members will be asked to choose their next  president-elect: Michael T. Brady, M.D., FAAP, or Colleen A. Kraft,  M.D., FAAP. The winner will serve as the 2018 AAP president.

Voters  also will elect district officers in six out of 10 districts: district  chairpersons (who serve as AAP Board members), district vice  chairpersons and National Nominating Committee representatives. Visit  coverage of the candidates in District IDistrict IIDistrict IVDistrict VDistrict VII and District IX. The new president-elect and newly elected district officers will take office on Jan. 1, 2017.

AAP News election coverage continues at and at the AAP Election Center, (login required). Read profiles of the president-elect candidates at and

If you have any questions on the election procedures, contact Katie Friedman at 800-433-9016, ext. 4296, or

All members are urged to vote.

Editor’s note: Biographies and personal statements were submitted by the candidates.


Phyllis F. Agran, M.D., M.P.H., FAAP

National Nominating Committee candidate

Dr. Agran is professor at the UC Irvine School of Medicine, Department of Pediatrics.

She has been an AAP member for 32 years and has experience at the local, district and national levels of the Academy. She is a past president of California Chapter 4, chair of the chapter’s Injury and Violence Prevention Committee, member of the CME Committee, facilitator for Community Access to Child Health (CATCH) and principal investigator of numerous grants.

At the national level, she is a member of the Council on Injury, Violence and Poison Prevention Executive Committee, the Violence Prevention Subcommittee, and Sections on Community Pediatrics and Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition. She is a past member of the Chapter Forum Management Committee, Editorial Board of Caring for Your Baby and Young Child, 0-5 Years and reviewer for Bright Futures.

Dr. Agran said she believes she has the background, experience and vision to participate in the selection of president-elect candidates who are visionary and innovative; represent the diversity of children and pediatricians; and are effective collaborators in matters of public policy.

Steven A. Feig, M.D., FAAP

National Nominating Committee candidate

Dr. Feig is associate professor of clinical pediatrics at University of California, Los Angeles, and assistant professor of clinical pediatrics at University of Southern California. For many years, he was ward attending at Children’s Hospital of Los Angeles and Cedars-Sinai Medical Center, where he also was clinical chief for four years.

His goal in entering private practice was to be the best physician possible and to bring those skills to the bedside of every patient at each encounter. He and his partners developed an inner-city Los Angeles practice serving children with special needs, as well as the routine pediatric care. It soon became apparent that there were societal forces impacting the well-being of patients’ lives and the practice. To address these problems, he became active in the L.A. Pediatric Society and AAP California Chapter 2, eventually becoming president of both. As chairman of the chapter legislative committee for 12 years and member of District IX State Government Affairs Committee from near its inception to 2015, he reviewed legislation and helped establish District IX’s position. His personal focus was access to quality medical care for all children and adequate reimbursement for pediatricians.

He received the Job Lewis Smith Award from the Council on Community Pediatrics in 2015.

Close Modal

or Create an Account

Close Modal
Close Modal