Skip to Main Content
Skip Nav Destination

Who’s who among AAP candidates for office in 2020 :

June 25, 2019

Voting for AAP president-elect and national officers will take place from Sept. 7-21. All terms begin Jan. 1, 2020.

AAP president-elect candidates are Lee Savio Beers, M.D., FAAP, and Pamela K. Shaw, M.D., FAAP. The winner will serve as AAP president in 2021.

Individuals running for national positions are listed below.

Voters will elect district officers in six of 10 districts: district chairpersons (who serve as AAP board members), district vice chairpersons (who assist and support the district chairperson when needed) and National Nominating Committee representatives (who nominate two candidates for president-elect).

Also on the ballot are individuals vying for three new at-large board member seats representing pediatric medical subspecialists, pediatric surgical specialists and at-large Fellows or specialty Fellows.

The Election Guide in the August issue of AAP News will feature biographical information on all candidates. Information also is posted at (login required).

Voting will be conducted online only. Instructions will be emailed to all voting Fellows with email addresses on file with the Academy. Watch for an email message that contains your personalized link to the election ballot (no additional ballot login information will be required). For questions about election procedures, contact Katie Friedman at or 630-626-6296.

2020 district office candidates


District chairperson

Wendy S. Davis, M.D., FAAP, incumbent


National Nominating Committee representative

Carolyn T. Cleary, M.D., FAAP


District chairperson

Michelle D. Fiscus, M.D., FAAP

Robert C. Gunther, M.D., M.P.H., FAAP

District vice chairperson

Patricia M. Purcell, M.D., M.B.A., FAAP

Charles R. Woods Jr., M.D., M.S., FAAP


District vice chairperson

Michael A. Gittelman, M.D., FAAP

Hirotaka Yamashiro, M.D., FRCP(C), FAAP, has withdrawn from the race.

National Nominating Committee representative

Tisa Johnson-Hooper, M.D., FAAP


District chairperson

Gary W. Floyd, M.D., FAAP

District vice chairperson

Susan Buttross, M.D., FAAP

Chadwick T. Rodgers, M.D., FAAP


National Nominating Committee representative

Edward S. Curry, M.D., FAAP

There are no position vacancies in Districts III, VI, VIII or X.

New at-large board seats

Voters will select three individuals to serve in the new AAP Board of Directors at-large positions.

One candidate will represent pediatric medical subspecialists:

Wayne H. Franklin, M.D., M.P.H., M.M.M., FACC, FAAP, of Oak Park, Ill.

Charles G. Macias, M.D., M.P.H., FAAP, of Houston

One candidate will represent pediatric surgical specialists:

William L. Hennrikus, M.D., FAAP, of Hershey, Pa.

Constance S. Houck, M.D., M.P.H., FAAP, of Boston

One candidate will represent at-large Fellows or specialty Fellows:

Rachel L. Dawkins, M.D., FAAP, of St. Petersburg, Fla.

Joseph L. Wright, M.D., M.P.H., FAAP, of Upper Marlboro, Md.

Close Modal

or Create an Account

Close Modal
Close Modal