Skip to Main Content
Skip Nav Destination

FAAPs chosen to lead American Board of Pediatrics, American Surgical Association, and more

July 1, 2021

Carole E. Allen, M.D., M.B.A., FAAP, of Arlington, Mass., was elected president of the Massachusetts Medical Society (MMS) and will serve until May 2022. A former member of the AAP Board of Directors, Dr. Allen practiced in Massachusetts for 37 years. She is a former trustee and delegate to the MMS.





April O. Buchanan, M.D., FAAP, of Greenville, S.C., is the newly elected president of the Council on Medical Student Education in Pediatrics, an international community of educators advancing the art and science of medical student education in pediatrics.

Dr. Buchanan is associate dean for curriculum and a professor of pediatrics at the University of South Carolina School of Medicine Greenville and a pediatric hospitalist with Prisma Health.




Diana L. Farmer, M.D., FACS, FRCS, FAAP, of Sacramento, Calif., is president-elect of the American Surgical Association for 2021-’22. She is chief of pediatric surgery at Shriners Hospitals for Children ‒ Northern California.






Helene D. Felman, M.D., FAAP,of Tucson, Ariz., has been appointed chief of the General Pediatrics Division and clinical associate professor of pediatrics at the University of Arizona College of Medicine – Tucson, Department of Pediatrics. She previously worked at Kaiser Permanente’s Interdisciplinary Pediatrics Center in Washington, D.C.





Janis L. Gonzales, M.D., M.P.H., FAAP, of Santa Fe, N.M., was named chief health officer of the New Mexico Early Childhood Education and Care Department. Immediate past president of the New Mexico Pediatric Society, she is the former deputy director of public health and Family Health Bureau chief/Title V director for the N.M. Department of Health.





Catherine M. Gordon, M.D., M.S., FAAP, of Boston, received the Society for Adolescent Health and Medicine’s Lifetime Achievement Award.

She will become pediatrician-in-chief at Texas Children’s Hospital and chair of pediatrics at Baylor College of Medicine in October, leaving her positions as chief of the Division of Adolescent/Young Adult Medicine and professor of pediatrics at Harvard Medical School.




Lily J. Lou, M.D., FAAP, of Palos Park, Ill., was named executive director of KV Foundation, the nonprofit public policy and advisory arm of KidsVax (KV). KV’s services include funding administration for vaccines.

She is professor of clinical pediatrics and director of government relations at the University of Illinois at Chicago.




Edward Neilan, M.D., Ph.D., FACMG, FAAP, of Natick, Mass., was appointed to the new position of chief medical and scientific officer for the National Organization for Rare Disorders. He will oversee medical and research initiatives.

Dr. Neilan retains an appointment on the medical staff at Boston Children's Hospital, where he previously served a term as president of the medical staff.




Heath A. Parker, D.O., FAAP, of Farragut, Tenn., has been named campus dean for The Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine Auburn (Ala.) Campus (VCOM-Auburn).

He was associate dean of clinical medicine and chief administrative officer of the Knoxville campus for DeBusk College of Osteopathic Medicine.




Eliana M. Perrin, M.D., M.P.H., FAAP, of Chapel Hill, N.C., was named Bloomberg Distinguished Professor of Primary Care at Johns Hopkins University. She holds primary appointments in the School of Medicine and the School of Nursing, as well as an appointment in the Bloomberg School of Public Health.

Formerly at Duke University, Dr. Perrin was professor of pediatrics, division chief for primary care pediatrics, program director for the National Clinician Scholars Program, and founder and director of the Duke Center for Childhood Obesity Research.



Judy Schaechter, M.D., M.B.A., FAAP, of Washington, D.C., will become president and CEO of the American Board of Pediatrics on Jan. 1.

Dr. Schaechter is a 2020-’21 health policy fellow with the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation in Washington, D.C. She is professor of pediatrics and public health sciences at the University of Miami Miller School of Medicine.




Beth Anne Tarini, M.D., M.S., FAAP, of Bethesda, Md., took over as president of the Society for Pediatric Research in June for the 2021-’22 term.

She is associate director of the Center for Translational Research in the Children’s National Research Institute at Children’s National Hospital.




Maria E. Trent, M.D., M.P.H., FSAHM, FAAP, of Jessup, Md., Bloomberg Professor of American Health at Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, was honored with a virtual professorship dedication (

She is chief of the Division of Adolescent/Young Adult Medicine at Johns Hopkins Children’s Center; director of the adolescent medicine fellowship program; and professor of pediatrics, public health and nursing at Johns Hopkins University.




Jasmine Y. Zapata, M.D., M.P.H., FAAP, of Fitchburg, Wis., was named chief medical officer and state epidemiologist for community health at the Wisconsin Department of Health Services. Her role will include increasing diversity of the future health care and public health workforce.






Fellows in the News acknowledges AAP members’ national and prominent awards, honors and appointments. Submit brief background information with academic titles and a high-resolution photo to Alyson Sulaski Wyckoff at awyckoff; phone 630-626-6770. Publication is at the discretion of AAP News.

Close Modal

or Create an Account

Close Modal
Close Modal