Skip to Main Content
Skip Nav Destination
AAP logo

Fellows in the News: Dr. Maldonado receives highest honor bestowed by the American Pediatric Society, and more

January 1, 2023

Elizabeth M. Alderman, M.D., FSAHM, FAAP, of New Rochelle, N.Y., was named the 2022 Renaissance School of Medicine at Stony Brook University Distinguished Alumnus Award recipient. The award is given to an alumnus whose accomplishments, affiliations and careers have honored the school’s legacy of excellence.

Dr. Alderman is a professor in the Department of Pediatrics and Obstetrics and Gynecology and Women’s Health at the Children’s Hospital at Montefiore, Albert Einstein College of Medicine. She also serves as chief of the Division of Adolescent Medicine and program director of the post-doctoral fellowship in adolescent medicine at the Children’s Hospital at Montefiore. Dr. Alderman chairs the AAP Committee on Adolescence.


Sharon Therese Ardythe Burey, M.D., FAAP, of Windsor, Ontario, Canada, was selected by the prime minister and appointed by the governor general to serve in the Senate of Canada.

Dr. Burey has been a behavioral pediatrician in Ontario for more than three decades. She also has served as an adjunct professor of pediatrics at Western University in London since 2009.

She received the AAP Ontario Chapter Excellence Award and the AAP Special Achievement Award. She also received the Excellence in Health Care Award from the North American Black Historical Museum and Cultural Centre. Dr. Burey is the first woman of color to hold the position of president of the Pediatricians Alliance of Ontario (AAP Ontario Chapter).


Robert Ira Hart, M.D., FAAP, of Baton Rouge, La., was named chief physician executive for Ochsner Health and president of Ochsner Health, where he will lead the health system’s clinical enterprise of more than 4,500 employed and affiliated physicians.

Dr. Hart previously served as the health system’s chief medical officer after joining the organization in 1994 as a pediatrician and internist.




Yvonne A. “Bonnie” Maldonado, M.D., FAAP, of Stanford, Calif., received the John Howland Award, the highest honor bestowed by the American Pediatric Society. The award recognizes her significant contributions to advancing child health and the profession of pediatrics.

Dr. Maldonado is senior associate dean for faculty development; Taube Endowed Professor of Global Health and Infectious Diseases; professor of pediatrics and of epidemiology and population health; and chief of the Division of Pediatric Infectious Diseases at Stanford University School of Medicine. She also is co-medical director, infection prevention and control, and attending physician at Lucile Packard Children’s Hospital Stanford. She is immediate past chair of the AAP Committee on Infectious Diseases.

Close Modal

or Create an Account

Close Modal
Close Modal