Skip to Main Content
Skip Nav Destination

Candidates announced for president-elect, district offices :

May 24, 2018

Dear Voting Fellow:

As stipulated in the bylaws of the American Academy of Pediatrics, I am hereby officially notifying you of the candidates for president-elect:

  • Sara “Sally” H. Goza, M.D., FAAP, Fayetteville, Ga.
  • George C. Phillips, M.D., M.B.A., FAAP, Overland Park, Kan.

Candidates for district offices are listed below.

According to the Academy’s bylaws, petitions for candidates for president-elect must be submitted to the Academy’s Central Office at least 30 days prior to the election (by noon CT on Oct. 2). Petitions must bear the signatures of at least 5% of the vote-eligible members from each of at least five districts. For district positions, the petition must include the signatures of at least 5% of the vote-eligible members from a majority of chapters in the district, and no more than 50% of the signatures may come from one chapter.

The June through October issues of AAP News will contain information on each president-elect candidate. The Voters’ Guide in the August issue of AAP News will contain biographical information on all district candidates. This information also will be posted at (login required), in addition to similar information on any candidates who may be nominated by petition.

The election by all voting members will be conducted online only. The election will commence on Friday, Nov. 2 and conclude at noon CT on Sunday, Dec. 2. Online voting instructions will be provided by email to all voting Fellows with email addresses on file with the Academy.

Watch your email in October for voting information from the AAP election coordinator. The email message will contain your personalized link to the election ballot (no additional ballot login information will be required). The candidates receiving a majority of the votes cast in each category will be declared the winners.

If you have any questions concerning the election procedures, contact Katie Friedman at or 630-626-6296.

Karen Remley, M.D., M.B.A., M.P.H., FAAP
CEO/Executive Vice President

2018 district office candidates

District Vice Chairperson

Patricia Flanagan, M.D., FAAP

National Nominating Committee

Benjamin Nwosu, M.D., FAAP

Jan Pelletier, M.D., FAAP


District Chairperson                    

Margaret Fisher, M.D., FAAP       

David Krol, M.D., FAAP


National Nominating Committee  

Stephen Church, M.D., FAAP

Kimberly Boland, M.D., FAAP


District Chairperson                       

Dennis Cooley, M.D., FAAP

District Vice Chairperson              

Claudia Preuschoff, M.D., FAAP

Jeffrey Britton, M.D., FAAP


National Nominating Committee  

Eve Switzer, M.D., FAAP

Stewart Gordon, M.D., FAAP       


District Chairperson                       

Yasuko Fukuda, M.D., FAAP

Edward Curry, M.D., FAAP

District Vice Chairperson               

Paula Whiteman, M.D., FACEP, FAAP

Eric Ball, M.D., FAAP

Close Modal

or Create an Account

Close Modal
Close Modal