Skip to Main Content
Skip Nav Destination

Dr. Kraft will be 2018 AAP president :

December 22, 2016

Colleen A. Kraft, M.D., FAAP, was waiting in her Cincinnati office along with about 30 colleagues when the call came on Nov. 22.

On the phone was AAP President Benard P. Dreyer, M.D., FAAP, who informed Dr. Kraft that she was voted AAP president-elect. She will serve as president for one year beginning Jan. 1, 2018, and follow AAP President Fernando Stein, M.D., FAAP, who took office Jan. 1, 2017. Dr. Kraft ran against Michael T. Brady, M.D., FAAP, of Columbus, Ohio.

Implementing the AAP strategic plan will be a priority when she takes over the 66,000-member organization.


“We as an Academy have brought up some important issues in the strategic plan, like poverty, early brain development and children’s use of media,” Dr. Kraft said. “What I would like to focus on is how we actually implement our strategy. How do we support our practicing pediatricians in addressing poverty, etc.?”

She believes the focus on implementation will help the Academy extend its reach.

Among other topics Dr. Kraft will focus on are maximizing innovative uses of telehealth, including its use for after-hours care of children, and alternative payment models in pediatrics.

The new president-elect is medical director of Health Network by Cincinnati Children’s (HNCC), an innovation lab for alternative payment models with Medicaid managed care. HNCC is a community-based network of providers near Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center. Dr. Kraft also is associate professor of pediatrics at University of Cincinnati School of Medicine.

This is Dr. Kraft’s second run for the AAP office. In 2008, she ran unsuccessfully against Judith S. Palfrey, M.D., FAAP, who was AAP president in 2009-’10.

For more about Dr. Kraft, visit


The following national officers also took office on Jan. 1:

District I – Chairperson

Wendy S. Davis, M.D., FAAP

District II – Vice Chairperson

Michael D. Terranova, M.D., FAAP

National Nominating Committee Representative

Abraham Jelin, M.D., FAAP

District IV – Chairperson

Jane Meschan Foy, M.D., FAAP (re-elected)

Vice Chair

Robert C. Gunther, M.D., M.P.H., FAAP (re-elected)

District V – Vice Chairperson

Gerald J. Tiberio, M.D., FAAP (re-elected)

National Nominating Committee Representative

Jeannette Lia Gaggino, M.D., FAAP

District VII – Chairperson

Anthony D. Johnson, M.D., FAAP (re-elected)

Vice Chairperson

Gary W. Floyd, M.D., FAAP (re-elected)

District IX – National Nominating Committee Representative

Phyllis F. Agran, M.D., M.P.H., FAAP


In the 2016 AAP election, 14.8% of eligible voters cast ballots. For a list of open positions for district chairs and the National Nominating Committee visit

Close Modal

or Create an Account

Close Modal
Close Modal