Skip to Main Content
Skip Nav Destination

Fellows in the News: AAP primary care pediatrician elected to AMA/specialty society panel, and more :

March 11, 2020

Dr. CainKathleen K. Cain, M.D., FAAP, of Topeka, Kan., was elected to the American Medical Association/Specialty Society Relative Value Scale Update Committee (RUC) Primary Care rotating seat. Her term will end in 2022, with the provision of the final recommendations to the 2023 Resource-Based Relative Value Scale (RBRVS).

Dr. Cain most recently was alternate RUC primary care representative to Julia M. Pillsbury, D.O., FAAP, of Dover, Del. Other AAP Committee on Coding and Nomenclature members on RUC are Margie C. Andreae, M.D., FAAP, AAP RUC representative, of Ann Arbor, Mich.; Eileen D. Brewer, M.D., FAAP, AAP alternate RUC representative, of Houston; and Steven E. Krug, M.D., FAAP, AAP RUC adviser, of Chicago.

The RUC expert panel makes relative value recommendations to the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services for new or revised Current Procedural Terminology codes for annual updates to the Medicare RBRVS. All sectors of medicine are represented in the volunteer group of 31 physicians and 300 medical advisers.


Additional Fellows in the News

Dr. ChomiloNathan T. Chomilo, M.D., FAAP, of Minneapolis, was named medical director of Medicaid by the Minnesota Department of Human Services. He is vice president and founder of Minnesota Doctors of Health Equity. Most recently, he served as medical director of Reach Out and Read Minnesota.

Dr. Chomilo is adjunct assistant professor of pediatrics at University of Minnesota Medical School and pediatrician at Park Nicollet Health Services Pediatrics and Internal Medicine.




Dr. LaBellaCynthia R. LaBella, M.D., FAAP, of Chicago, was appointed to the 2020-’21 President’s Council on Sports, Fitness and Nutrition Science Board, which supports the council and Health and Human Services in implementing and promoting the Nation Youth Sports Strategy.

Medical director for the Institute for Sports Medicine at Lurie Children’s Hospital, Dr. LaBella is professor of pediatrics at Northwestern Feinberg School of Medicine.

She is immediate past chair of the AAP Council on Sports Medicine and Fitness Executive Committee and serves on the sports medicine advisory committees for U.S. Soccer, Pop Warner Football and the Illinois High School Association.


Dr. VohraSameer Vohra, M.D., J.D., M.A., FAAP, of Springfield, Ill., was selected as one of 60 scholars for the Presidential Leadership Scholars Program. The program selects mid-career professionals to hone leadership skills by interacting with former Presidents George W. Bush and Bill Clinton as well as administration officials and academic, business and civic leaders.

During the program, Dr. Vohra is working on a project to bring more comprehensive services and improved health outcomes to children and families in rural Illinois. He is chair of population science and policy and assistant professor of pediatrics, medical humanities and law at Southern Illinois University School of Medicine.

Close Modal

or Create an Account

Close Modal
Close Modal