; Skip to Main Content
Skip Nav Destination

Fellows in the News: AAP welcomes two pediatricians to staff, and more :

December 27, 2016

Academy welcomes two pediatricians to staff

Anne R. Edwards, M.D., FAAP, of Minneapolis, is joining the Academy as senior vice president, Pediatric Practice and Subspecialty Pediatrics, and Debra B. Waldron, M.D., M.P.H., FAAP, of Hanover, Md., is joining the Academy as senior vice president, Child Health and Wellness.

Dr. Edwards comes from Park Nicollet Health Services where she was in general pediatrics, chair of pediatrics and co-chair of children’s health initiatives at Health Partners. Past president of the AAP Minnesota Chapter, she was co-chair of the Task Force on Pediatric Practice Change, chair of the Committee on State Government Affairs and District VI vice chair.

Dr. Waldron was director of the Division of Services for Children with Special Health Needs at the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB) of the Health Resources and Services Administration. Past president of the Iowa Chapter, she was vice chair of child health policy and professor of pediatrics at the University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine and medical director for pediatric quality at Health Partners in Bloomington, Minn., prior to her MCHB role.


Additional Fellows making headlines:

Avril P. Beckford, M.D., FAAP, of Atlanta, received the Georgia Hospital Heroes Physician Hero Award for her work in primary practice.

Dr. Beckford has helped expand pediatric services and subspecialty care in her community. She is a past president of the AAP Georgia Chapter and past member of the AAP National Nominating Committee. Chief pediatric officer at WellStar Health System, she is a member of the Community Physician’s Advisory Committee at Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta.

Brandy A. Hattendorf, M.D., FAAP, of Long Beach, Calif., received the International Humanitarian Award from Save A Child’s Heart, a nonprofit charity that provides free heart surgery to children worldwide.

She is assistant professor of pediatrics in the Division of Cardiology at Children’s Hospital Los Angeles and University of Southern California Keck School of Medicine.

A member of the AAP Section on Cardiology and Cardiac Surgery, she serves on several committees of the American Society of Echocardiography.

David W. Kimberlin, M.D., FAAP, of Birmingham, Ala., received the Medical Award of Excellence from the Ronald McDonald House Charities for contributions to improve the quality of life for children.

He is the Sergio Stagno Endowed Chair in Pediatric Infectious Diseases at the University of Alabama at Birmingham and co-director of the pediatric infectious diseases division. Dr. Kimberlin also is principal investigator (PI) of the Collaborative Antiviral Study Group and is PI on four contract awards to study neonatal herpes simplex virus infections and congenital cytomegalovirus infections at 20 academic centers in the U.S. and Britain.

Editor of the 2015 and 2018 AAP Red Book, he is an ex officio member of the AAP Committee on Infectious Diseases. Dr. Kimberlin served as president of the Pediatric Infectious Diseases Society from 2015-’17.

Rianna C. Leazer, M.D., FAAP, of Norfolk, Va., received the Jennifer Daru Memorial Award from the Hospital Pediatrics editorial board for outstanding contributions. The award recognizes the article “A Meta-analysis of the Rates of Listeria monocytogenes and Enterococcus in Febrile Infants” published in the April 2016 issue (http://bit.ly/2gPH7zP).

Dr. Leazer is a pediatric hospitalist at the Children’s Hospital of the King’s Daughters and assistant professor of pediatrics at Eastern Virginia Medical School. She is a member of the AAP Section on Hospital Medicine, Society of Hospital Medicine and Academic Pediatric Association.

Close Modal

or Create an Account

Close Modal
Close Modal