Skip to Main Content
Skip Nav Destination

Fellows in the News: Dr. Barfield promoted to assistant surgeon general, and more :

January 25, 2017

Dr. BarfieldDr. BarfieldWanda D. Barfield, M.D., M.P.H., FAAP, of Atlanta, was promoted to assistant surgeon general of the U.S. Public Health Service.

Dr. Barfield is director of the Division of Reproductive Health within the National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).

She is associate professor of pediatrics at the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences and adjunct assistant professor at Emory University School of Medicine. Dr. Barfield’s research has focused on perinatal morbidity and mortality; early child health services utilization; improving access to risk-appropriate perinatal services; and advancing the quality of women’s maternal and child health data for public health action.

She is the CDC liaison to the AAP Section on Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine and Committee on Fetus and Newborn.


Juan A. Dumois, M.D., FAAP, of St. Petersburg, Fla., received the Johns Hopkins Medicine Clinical Excellence Physician of the Year Award.

Dr. Dumois is clinical practice director for pediatric infectious disease and chair of the Division of Infectious Disease at Johns Hopkins All Children’s Hospital, where he is an attending physician.

He is a member of the AAP Council on Foster Care, Adoption and Kinship Care and Section on Infectious Diseases.


Matthew D. Garber, M.D., F.H.M., FAAP, of Jacksonville, Fla., was selected as the Paul V. Miles Fellow in Quality Improvement by the American Board of Pediatrics. The award is given to a mid-career pediatrician dedicated to improving quality of care for children. He was chosen for perspectives on quality improvement in community-based hospitals, as well as launching and sustaining new programs.

Professor of pediatrics at the University of Florida College of Medicine and a hospitalist at Wolfson Children’s Hospital, Dr. Garber is chair-elect of the AAP Section on Hospital Medicine Executive Committee.

He is one of the founders and chair of the Value in Inpatient Pediatrics (VIP) Network, which is part of the AAP Quality Improvement Innovation Networks. The VIP Network has grown to include projects on urinary tract infections, community-acquired pneumonia, bronchiolitis in the emergency department and hospital, and fever in infants.


Dr. Hanna-AttishaDr. Hanna-AttishaMona Hanna-Attisha, M.D., M.P.H., FAAP, of West Bloomfield, Mich., was among 11 nominees to be considered for Time magazine’s 2016 Person of the Year.

Dr. Hanna-Attisha became a public health advocate for children in Flint, Mich., who suffered health problems after drinking the city’s lead-contaminated water. A pediatrician at Hurley Children’s Hospital, she is director of the pediatric residency program at Hurley Medical Center and assistant professor of pediatrics and human development in the College of Human Medicine at Michigan State University.



Dr. LiuDr. LiuGilbert C. Liu, M.D., M.S., FAAP, of Louisville, Ky., was named medical director of the Kentucky Department for Medicaid Services in the Cabinet for Health and Family Services. He also was named endowed chair and distinguished scholar in Urban Health Policy Research at the University of Louisville, where he is associate professor of pediatrics.

Chair of the AAP Pediatric Leadership Alliance planning group, Dr. Liu serves on the National Institutes of Health Community Influences on Health Behavior scientific merit review panel. He also founded the Kentucky Pediatric Alliance for Transforming Children’s Healthcare, a learning collaborative to improve care quality for publicly insured children in the Louisville metro area.



Dr. Ergun-LongmireDr. Ergun-LongmireBerrin Ergun-Longmire, M.D., FAAP, of Toledo, Ohio, was named director of the Center for Diabetes and Endocrinology at Akron Children’s Hospital.

She most recently served as chief of pediatric endocrinology and diabetes in the pediatrics department at the University of Toledo College of Medicine. Her research has focused on type 1 and type 2 diabetes in children.




Amy Groen, D.O., FAAP, of Ankeny, Iowa, was named medical director of the new Blank Children’s Hospital Pediatric Emergency Department.

She is adjunct assistant professor at Des Moines University and adjunct clinical assistant professor at University of Iowa.

Dr. Groen is a member of the AAP Section on Emergency Medicine. She serves as a disaster preparedness co-champion within the Iowa Chapter and is the chapter’s representative to the Iowa Trauma System Advisory Council and Iowa Department of Public Health Emergency Medicine Services Council.


Dr. NeufeldDr. NeufeldEllis J. Neufeld, M.D., Ph.D., FAAP, of Boston, was named clinical director, physician-in-chief and executive vice president of St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital effective in March.

He most recently was associate chief of the Division of Hematology/Oncology at Dana-Farber/Boston Children’s Cancer and Blood Disorders Center, medical director at Boston Hemophilia Center and Egan Family Foundation Chair in Transitional Medicine at Harvard.

Dr. Neufeld has researched non-malignant hematologic diseases and published on hemophilia, thalassemia and immune thrombocytopenia. He is a member of the AAP Section on Hematology/Oncology.



Dr. OwenDr. OwenFrances L. Owen, M.D., FAAP, of St. Simons Island, Ga., received the Contributions to Quality Care of Children and Youth with Special Needs Award from the Georgia Department of Public Health.

Dr. Owen has a special interest in adolescent health, particularly attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder. She is in practice with the Southeast Georgia Health System.





Sharon D. Rouse, D.O., FAAP, of Jackson, Mich., was named chief medical officer at the Center for Family Health, a federally qualified health center that operates seven sites across the Jackson area.

Most recently, Dr. Rouse served as medical supervisor of the pediatrics and family medicine departments at the Center for Family Health. She is a former high school science teacher and helped establish the medical residency program with Henry Ford Allegiance Health.

Close Modal

or Create an Account

Close Modal
Close Modal