Skip to Main Content
Skip Nav Destination

Fellows in the News: Dr. Hanna-Attisha wins social change award, and more :

August 17, 2016

Conrad R. Capili, M.D., FAAP, of Grapevine, Texas, received the University of Texas (UT) at Dallas Undergraduate Alumni Achievement Award.

Dr. Capili received his undergraduate degree summa cum laude from UT Dallas in 2008. He was president of the Alpha Epsilon Delta pre-health honor society and earned three scholarships and awards from UT Dallas.

He is a pediatrician at Healing Hands Ministries Medical and Dental, a community-based clinic for underserved families in Dallas. There, he cares for children with special health care needs. While a resident at UT Southwestern Medical Center and Children’s Health in Dallas, Dr. Capili received the Resident Advocacy Award for work with the UT Dallas Center for Children and Families to create a developmental screening initiative for low-income families.

Michael Cinoman, M.D., FAAP, of Cary, N.C., was named director of the pediatric intensive care unit at the Moses H. Cone Memorial Hospital.

A clinical professor of pediatrics at University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, he was director of pediatric research at Cempra Inc. Dr. Cinoman helped found the pediatric intensive care unit at WakeMed Health and Hospitals in 1994.

Mona Hanna-Attisha, M.D., M.P.H., FAAP, of West Bloomfield, Mich., received the Stephen Gools Award for Social Change from AARP Michigan for her research that uncovered elevated blood lead levels in Flint, Mich., children after drinking contaminated water drawn from the Flint River. She urged officials to re-examine the water source and advocated for extra support to care for children with lead poisoning.

Dr. Hanna-Attisha is head of the pediatric residency program at Hurley Medical Center and professor of pediatrics and human development at Michigan State University College of Human Medicine.

She will be speaking about her advocacy experience on Oct. 23 at the AAP National Conference & Exhibition in San Francisco:

Akshat Jain, M.D., M.P.H., FAAP, of Mineola, N.Y., was named section head of global pediatric hematology oncology and stem cell transplantation at Northwell Health.

Assistant professor of pediatrics at Hofstra Northwell School of Medicine, Dr. Jain is associate adjunct faculty at Hofstra University School of Public Health.

Megan A. Moreno, M.D., M.S.Ed., M.P.H., FAAP, of Seattle, received the University of Washington (UW) School of Public Health’s Distinguished Faculty Mentor Award and UW Undergraduate Mentor Award.

Associate professor of pediatrics at UW, she is a social media and adolescent health researcher at the Center for Child Health, Behavior and Development at Seattle Children’s Research Institute.

She is a member of the AAP Council on Communications and Media Executive Committee.

Susan Niermeyer, M.D., M.P.H., FAAP, of Aurora, Colo., was named a senior medical adviser for newborn health at the USAID Bureau for Global Health. She will provide technical leadership on newborn health issues, including routine and special care of preterm, low birthweight and sick newborns in special newborn care units and newborn intensive care units. Dr. Niermeyer also will be involved in global work on the Every Newborn Action Plan and will serve as an adviser on missions and certain USAID bureaus.

She is a practicing neonatologist and professor in the Department of Pediatrics at the University of Colorado School of Medicine and the Department of Epidemiology and Center for Global Health at Colorado School of Public Health.

Dr. Niermeyer has served as a Neonatal Resuscitation Program/Helping Babies Breathe(HBB) master trainer, editor of HBB and is a member of the AAP Sections on Breastfeeding, Tobacco Control, International Child Health and Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine.

Stella L. Ocampo, M.D., FAAP, of La Junta, Colo., received the Southern Regional Literacy Champion Award from Reach Out and Read for early literacy advocacy work.

Dr. Ocampo is a pediatrician at the La Junta Clinic. She is a member of the AAP Section on Developmental and Behavioral Pediatrics and Council on Children with Disabilities.

Ramesh Sachdeva, M.D., Ph.D., J.D., M.B.A., FAAP, of Elk Grove Village, Ill., was named senior vice president of strategic affairs at Upstate Medical University in New York. He will work on clinical integration through quality and outcomes science and develop strategies to enhance education, clinical care and research.

On faculty at the Medical College of Wisconsin, Dr. Sachdeva served as AAP associate executive director from 2012-’16. He oversaw the Academy’s Departments of Subspecialty Pediatrics and Practice, and also served as medical director of AAP Quality Initiatives for the past eight years. Under his guidance, the Academy was awarded grants to support the AAP Coordinating Center for Awareness and Access to Services for Children and Youth with Epilepsy, the Pediatric Environmental Health Specialty Unit Program and the Alliance for Innovation on Maternal and Child Health.

Stephanie A. Storgion, M.D., FAAP, of Memphis, Tenn., was named chair of the Department of Physician Assistant Studies at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center (UTHSC). A top goal for Dr. Storgion will be to advance the program from provisional to permanent accreditation.

Medical director of the intermediate care unit at Le Bonheur Children’s Hospital and co-medical director of pediatric neuro intensive care, she is coordinator of faculty mentoring in the UTHSC Department of Pediatrics.

Close Modal

or Create an Account

Close Modal
Close Modal