Skip to Main Content
Skip Nav Destination

Fellows in the News: Dr. Perrin elected to the National Academy of Medicine, and more :

November 29, 2016

Nathaniel B. Beers, M.D., M.P.A., FAAP, of Washington, D.C., was named president and CEO of The HSC Foundation effective May 1. He currently is executive vice president of management and clinical affairs of the foundation, which serves people with complex health care needs and works to eliminate barriers to health services.

Dr. Beers has held leadership roles within D.C. public schools and public health venues and is board certified in developmental-behavioral pediatrics.

A member of the AAP Council on School Health Executive Committee, Dr. Beers is past president of the D.C. Chapter and past chair of the Committee on Membership.

Carrie L. Byington, M.D., FAAP, of Salt Lake City, was named vice chancellor for health services, dean of the College of Medicine and vice president of the Health Science Center at Texas A&M University starting in January.

She currently serves as the H.A. and Edna Benning Presidential Professor of Pediatrics and vice dean for academic affairs and faculty development at the University of Utah School of Medicine. She also is associate vice president for faculty and academic affairs for health sciences.

Dr. Byington led the Infectious Diseases Advisory Group of the U.S. Olympic Committee during the summer 2016 Olympics.

She is chair of the AAP Committee on Infectious Diseases.

W. Eugene Egerton, M.D., FAAP, of Bel Air, Md., was named chief medical officer of Saint Agnes Medical Center in Fresno, Calif.

Retired from the U.S. Army Medical Command after 23 years of service, he is a member of the AAP Section on Uniformed Services.

Leonard R. Krilov, M.D., FAAP, of Woodbury, N.Y., was named chairman of the Department of Pediatrics at Winthrop-University Hospital in Mineola, N.Y. He also serves as chief of the Division of Pediatric Infectious Disease at Winthrop-University.

A professor of pediatrics at the State University at Stony Brook School of Medicine, Dr. Krilov is an editor and writer for AAP PREP ID. He is a member of the Section on Infectious Diseases Executive Committee and co-chair of the Infectious Diseases Committee.

Yvonne A. Maldonado, M.D., FAAP, of Stanford, Calif, was appointed to the Polio Transition Independent Monitoring Board for 2016-’19. The nine-member board evaluates progress toward major milestones of the Global Polio Eradication Initiative (GPEI) Strategic Plan, assessing risks of funding gaps and establishing emergency corrective action plans. The Academy nominated Dr. Maldonado for the board and is a partner in the GPEI and member of the GPEI stakeholders group. The board’s reports inform the heads of partner agencies, including the World Health Organization, Rotary International, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, UNICEF and the Gates Foundation.

Dr. Maldonado serves as senior associate dean for faculty development and diversity, professor of pediatrics and health research and policy, and chief of the Division of Infectious Diseases at Stanford University.

She is vice chair of the AAP Committee on Infectious Diseases and a member of the AAP Task Force on Diversity and Inclusion.

Kathryn S. Moffett, M.D., FAAP, of Morgantown, W.V., received the Monongalia County Health Department Hero of Public Health Award.

Dr. Moffett was honored for her actions to prevent a public health crisis after 34 students and four chaperones were exposed to a bat while sleeping in a summer camp dormitory. Dr. Moffett helped interview and assess the individuals for rabies exposure to determine health risks.

She is professor of pediatrics, section chief, pediatric infectious diseases director and Mountain State Cystic Fibrosis Center co-clerkship director at West Virginia School of Medicine.

James M. Perrin, M.D., FAAP, of Boston, was elected to the National Academy of Medicine. He is one of 79 individuals selected by the National Academy of Sciences for major contributions to the advancement of the medical sciences, health care and public health.

He is the John C. Robinson Chair in Pediatrics at Massachusetts General Hospital for Children and professor of pediatrics at Harvard Medical School. Dr. Perrin is a founding director of the Center for Child and Adolescent Health Policy at Massachusetts General.

Recently, Dr. Perrin’s work has focused on racial and ethnic disparities in the care of children with autism spectrum disorders and coordination of care for children with autism.

The 2014 AAP president, Dr. Perrin is a co-chair of the Task Force on Pediatric Practice Change.

Larry K. Pickering, M.D., FAAP, of Atlanta, received the 2016 John P. Utz Award in recognition of outstanding leadership skills from the National Foundation for Infectious Diseases. He also was elected to the Infectious Diseases Society of America (IDSA) Board of Directors, and will serve as secretary on the IDSA Education and Research Foundation.

Editor of the AAP Red Book from 2000-’12, Dr. Pickering is adjunct professor of pediatrics at Emory University School of Medicine.

Submit news of Fellows’ awards, honors and appointments, including biographical sketch and photo, to Trisha Korioth at; phone 847-434-4791. Please include any academic titles and memberships on AAP committees, sections or groups that should be listed in the item. Publication is at the discretion of AAP News

Close Modal

or Create an Account

Close Modal
Close Modal