Skip to Main Content
Skip Nav Destination

Fellows in the News: Dr. Stevenson receives St. Geme Award, and more :

April 28, 2016


Dr. StevensonDr. StevensonDr. StevensonDavid K. Stevenson, M.D., FAAP, of Stanford, Calif., received the Joseph W. St. Geme Leadership Award from the Federation of Pediatric Organizations (FOPO). The award recognizes broad, sustained contributions to pediatrics that have a major impact on child health.


Dr. Stevenson is Harold K. Faber Professor of Pediatrics, senior associate dean for maternal and child health, co-director of the Stanford Child Health Research Institute, and director of Charles B. & Ann L. Johnson Center for Pregnancy & Newborn Services at Lucile Packard Children’s Hospital, Stanford University School of Medicine. His research has focused on neonatal jaundice and heme oxygenase biology that has influenced change in neonatal intensive care. He is a member of AAP Section on Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine.


Dr. ArchuletaDr. ArchuletaBob A. Archuleta, M.D., FAAP, of Midlothian, Va., was appointed to the National Quality Forum’s Palliative and End-of-Life Care Standing Committee for the End-of-Life Endorsement Maintenance Project. The project’s goals are to identify and endorse performance measures for accountability and quality improvement that address palliative and end-of-life care.

Dr. Archuleta is medical director and founder of Noah’s Children Hospice and Palliative Care Program. He has practiced primary care in Richmond for 37 years.


Dr. KaskelDr. KaskelFrederick J. Kaskel, M.D., Ph.D., FAAP, of Bronx, N.Y., and Ellis De. Avner, M.D., of Milwaukee, received the Founder’s Award from the American Society of Pediatric Nephrology.

Dr. Kaskel is professor and vice chair of pediatrics and director of pediatric nephrology at the Albert Einstein College of Medicine of Yeshiva University and director of life course research for the Institute for Clinical and Translational Research.

An ad hoc member on the International Pediatric Nephrology Association Council and the Food and Drug Administration Pediatric Advisory Committee, he is president of the 15th Scientific Congress of the International Pediatric Nephrology Association. He also is a member of the AAP Section on Pediatric Nephrology Executive Committee and Section on Senior Members.

Dr. Avner is emeritus professor of pediatrics and physiology at the Medical College of Wisconsin and attending physician and director of Multidisciplinary Program for Childhood Polycystic Kidney Disease in the Division of Nephrology at the Children’s Hospital Health System of Wisconsin.


LaerdalLaerdalTore Laerdal, M.Sc., Honorary FAAP, of Stavanger, Norway, was selected as a 2016 winner of the United Nations Development Program Business for Peace Prize. The honor recognizes his innovations in developing educational and therapeutic resuscitation devices to support life-saving programs and initiatives in developing countries, such as Helping Babies Breathe.


Mr. Laerdal is executive chairman of Laerdal Medical. Laerdal Global Health, the nonprofit part of Laerdal Medical, provides affordable, culturally sensitive products to help save lives in low-resource settings.


Dr. StantonDr. StantonBonita Stanton, M.D., FAAP, of Detroit, was named founding dean of the new school of medicine at Seton Hall University and Hackensack University Health Network in New Jersey. Dr. Stanton assumed the new role in March. The medical school is slated to open in fall 2018 and announced its intention to accept its first students within two years.

Most recently, Dr. Stanton served as vice dean for research at Wayne State University School of Medicine, pediatrician-in-chief at Children’s Hospital of Michigan, Detroit Medical Center, and chair of the Department of Pediatrics at West Virginia University.

She also was a health consultant to the World Bank and International Center for Diarrheal Diseases Research. She is past president of the Association of Medical School Pediatric Department Chairs.


Dr. WattsDr. WattsRaymond G. Watts, M.D., FAAP, of New Orleans, was named professor and head of the Department of Pediatrics at Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center New Orleans and the Children’s Hospital of New Orleans. He also will hold the William H. Stewart, M.D., Chair in Pediatrics.

A pediatric hematologist-oncologist, Dr. Watts spent the past 25 years at the University of Alabama at Birmingham, where he was residency program director, medical staff president and service line leader of the Alabama Center for Childhood Cancer and Blood Disorders. He is a member of the AAP Section on Hematology/Oncology.

Close Modal

or Create an Account

Close Modal
Close Modal