Skip to Main Content
Skip Nav Destination

Fellows in the News: Pediatricians honored at Pediatric Academic Societies meeting :

April 28, 2016

The following individuals are receiving recognition at the Pediatric Academic Societies meeting April 30-May 3 in Baltimore.


Dr. BianchiDr. BianchiDiana Bianchi, M.D., of Boston, received the Society for Pediatric Research Maureen Andrew Mentor Award.

She is the Natalie V. Zucker Professor of Pediatrics, Obstetrics and Gynecology and vice chair for research at the School of Medicine Floating Hospital for Children, Tufts University.




Dr. DvorinDr. DvorinJeffrey D. Dvorin, M.D., Ph.D., FAAP, of Boston, received the Young Investigator Award from the Society for Pediatric Research.

He is assistant professor of pediatrics and associate physician in infectious diseases at Boston Children’s Hospital and Harvard Medical School. Dr. Dvorin’s research is focused on essential gene function in the malaria parasite to provide targets for the design of new antimalarials and vaccines.


Dr. KleinDr. KleinMelissa D. Klein, M.D., M.Ed., FAAP, of Cincinnati, received the Academic Pediatric Association (APA) Faculty Teaching Award.

Dr. Klein is co-director of the APA Online Medical Education programs. She also serves as associate professor of pediatrics at University of Cincinnati College of Medicine and director of the General Pediatric Master Educator Fellowship at Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center.




Shoo K. Lee, M.D., of Toronto, Canada, received the Doug Richardson Perinatal and Pediatric Healthcare Award.

Dr. Lee is scientific director of the Institute of Human Development, Child & Youth Health, Canadian Institute of Health Research. He also is professor of pediatrics, obstetrics and gynecology and professor of public health at University of Toronto. At Mount Sinai Hospital, Dr. Lee is head of the pediatrics department and director of the Maternal-Infant Care Research Center.


Cynthia S. Minkovitz, M.D., M.P.P., FAAP, of Baltimore, received the Academic Pediatric Association Research Award.

At Johns Hopkins (JH), she is professor in the Department of Population, Family and Reproductive Health in the Bloomberg School of Public Health and in the Department of Pediatrics at the School of Medicine. Dr. Minkovitz also directs the JH Women's and Children's Health Policy Center. Co-principal investigator on the national evaluation of the Anne E. Dyson Community-based Pediatrics Training Initiative, she also serves on the Advisory Council for Nemours Health and Prevention Services and the Academic Pediatric Association Board of Directors.

Dr. OrangeDr. OrangeJordan S. Orange, M.D., Ph.D., FAAP, of Houston, received the Norman J. Siegel New Member Outstanding Science Award from the American Pediatric Society.

Professor of pediatrics at Baylor College of Medicine and Texas Children’s Hospital, he is chief of immunology, allergy and rheumatology, director of the Center for Human Immunobiology, director of the Pediatrician Scientist Training and Development program and vice chair of research. He is president-elect of the Clinical Immunology Society.



Dr. PattersonDr. PattersonBarron L. Patterson, M.D., FAAP, of Nashville, accepted the Academic Pediatric Association Healthcare Delivery Award for the Vanderbilt
Pediatric Primary Care Clinic. The clinic offers a program that includes health care in the context of a teaching setting.

Dr. Patterson is vice chair of ambulatory services and assistant professor of pediatrics at Vanderbilt University School of Medicine.



Dr. RyanDr. Ryan
Michael Ryan, M.D., FAAP, of Richmond, Va., received the Academic Pediatric Association’s Teaching Junior Faculty Award.

Assistant dean of clinical medical education and assistant professor in the Division of Hospital Medicine at Virginia Commonwealth University School of Medicine, he is a member of the AAP Section on Hospital Medicine.



Dr. StollDr. StollBarbara J. Stoll, M.D., FAAP, of Houston, was awarded the John Howland Medal, the American Pediatric Society’s highest honor for distinguished service to pediatrics as a whole.

She is H. Wayne Hightower Distinguished Professor in the Medical Sciences and dean of UTHealth McGovern Medical School. Dr. Stoll has worked to raise awareness and develop interventions and guidelines to reduce neonatal mortality and improve care of newborns in resource-poor settings. She has held numerous roles with the Institute of Medicine, World Health Organization, CARE, Save the Children, USAID, the March of Dimes and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Dr. Stoll is past president of the American Pediatric Society.



Dr. SzilagyiDr. SzilagyiMoira A. Szilagyi, M.D., Ph.D., FAAP, of Agoura Hills, Calif., received the Academic Pediatric Association Public Policy and Advocacy Award.

She is professor of pediatrics and section chief of developmental studies at University of California Los Angeles Department of Pediatrics and Mattel Children's Hospital. Dr. Szilagyi is chair of the AAP Council on Foster Care, Adoption and Kinship Care Executive Committee and a member of the Council on Community Pediatrics.



Dr. YoungDr. YoungPaul C. Young, M.D., FAAP, of Salt Lake City, received the Academic Pediatric Association’s Miller Sarkin Mentoring Award.

Professor of pediatrics at the University of Utah School of Medicine in the Division of General Pediatrics, Dr. Young is a senior mentor in the Vice President’s Clinical and Translational Scholar Program. He is a member of the AAP Council on Community Pediatrics, Council on Quality Improvement and Patient Safety and Section on Senior Members.

Close Modal

or Create an Account

Close Modal
Close Modal